Thrift Shops, How I Adore Thee

[edit2] Day 10 Photo (no time for blog right now)

St. Marks Place has the coolest little shops, and Hottie is a cheap but cute jewelry store that I adore =].
[/edit2]

[edit] I posted up a Roses theme for wordpress in My Works section if anyone would like to take a look. If you do happen to download it and try to use it, and it’s not working, let me know and I will fix it. It’s pretty plain but I find it cute. =] [/edit]

Okay so last night, I did not go to sleep. I tried. I read a few chapters of Annette and Sylvie by Romain Rolland and I felt sleepy so I turned off the light and tried again to doze off. Twenty minutes went by and as sleepy as I was, I could not get my body to relax and let the serotonin convert to melatonin and just fall asleep. I ended up watching television until around 6:45am, and then I finally fell asleep. I woke up at 2:30pm and it was an accident that I did. It was as if my body was telling me “GET UP YOU ARE LATE!” and I had about ten text messages from my friends and my boyfriend, waiting for me to get up and answer them.

So there goes my sleeping pattern. First I smoke and fall asleep at 10pm and sleep for fifteen hours, and then when I am sober and try to sleep, my body won’t let me and I end up falling asleep just as my mother starts showering before work.

Anyways, I went to Williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY today with a fellow comrade because we wanted to go eat at one of my favorite Thai restaurants, Sea (and of course I got the Tom Yum Lemongrass Soup). Before we got there, we stopped by the Salvation Army thrift store and I found a Led Zeppelin band tee for only 99 cents. Do you guys understand how ecstatic I was?! Not only was it a band tee that I had been looking for, for a while, but it was only 99 cents. Besides that I bought Rosie and Skate by Beth Ann Bauman for $1.49 and Soy Of Cooking by Marie Oser. I get so excited when I attain great finds, especially at thrift stores, for so cheap! Of course I have to finish Annette and Sylvie before I read Rosie and Skate but I will be trying many of the Soy recipes. It has gourmet recipes that are “easy-to-make vegetarian, low-fat, fat-free, and antioxidant-rich.” So my “being healthy” resolution will be off to a great start with this cookbook.

Later when my friend and I were leaving to the train, we passed by the shop again and I noticed that there was another section of books that I didn’t see, but I was sad because they were already closed =[.

Anyways, this is my Day 9 photo of the 365 Pictures Project:

Here are the two books and the band tee that I bought. Makes me SOOOOO happy.

AdjΓΆ
Lady Impulse

27 responses to “Thrift Shops, How I Adore Thee

  1. hey there! thanks for commenting on my blog =) We don’t have very many good thrift shops where I am so you’re really lucky to have found your led zeppelin tee for so cheap! =)

    and thai food is the yumz. and i find myself really unable to fall asleep sometimes too so i can feel your pain, heh.

  2. I could not fall asleep until 6 am and I woke up at 4 pm today .. talk about LOOOOOOONG sleep πŸ™‚

  3. OMG! Those are amazing finds! (i love LZ a lot…and I can imagine your excitement!)
    You live in NY?!?! !! My cousin lives in Manhattan and I always love visiting him~ ^___________^ yay~

  4. I love thrifting too. My all time treasure was the Bright Eyes T that I found. I like spoons too. Ones perfect for eating cereal and soup. So I have a collection of those.

    The mustache guy is just his alter ego. Michael even gets a little guitar ditty on the soundtrack.

  5. I hate it when I cannot to sleep even though I’m dead tired!!! Ooo thrift stores are awesomesauce! Congrats on the goodies!

  6. I hate akward sleep patterns >.<

  7. what a irregular sleep hours? i can’t take that, if i were u maybe i’ve been collapsed already. haha

  8. I’ve never been to a thift shop. My cousin gets all her clothes from them and her clothes are fucking awesome!! In fact, I don’t know if there are any around my house. Or town… I’ll have to ask my mom. She might know.

  9. Oh wow, Here on guam…We have a salvation army store aswell. I sometimes find great jeans & some decorations there. I honestly love how cheap, but great salvation army is. I am also planning on doing that 365 thing.

  10. Btw, if you don’t mind me asking, how did you do the reply thing?

    • I use wordpress and I am guessing you do too. You have to go to the comments section on the left panel in your dashboard and when you hover over a comment, links appear under the comment such as: approve (unapprove) edit reply and so on. You click reply and you reply to the comment. I hope thats what you are talking about cause if not, I am going to feel really stupid lol.

  11. I hear ya about the odd sleep patterns. I hate it, and I wish I can stop smoking, some days, I can do it and then other days I can’t. But anyhow, I hope you’re going to get back your sleeping pattern soon πŸ™‚ the book sounds interesting, well, the title does anyways, so I’m going to google it!

  12. LUCKY finds! Especially the Led Zeppelin tee. ♥ them. πŸ˜€ I always go to the bargain stores first, you never know what you might find and that makes it all the more magical.

  13. Thrift shops are awesome when you know what you are looking for and can shift through the crap. I always have trouble finding jems.

  14. OMG! i am soooo jealous of your Led Zeppelin band tee… O_o

  15. WOW!!! FIFTEEN HOURS OF SLEEP!!!!! Oh, your sleep pattern is all screwed up girl!!!! Yah, you need to get your sleep pattern back on track…

    Healthy foods…I should start that cause I think my body all screwed up…even Auntie Flo comes ANYTIME of the month and is not right. I mean I have an idea of when to expect her but dang…is annoying. *LOL* Dontcha’ just luv being a woman??? *LOL*

    Thrift shops are great places to find treasures which are VERY CHEAP…I needa check out my local thrift shop too…*LOL* See what treasures I can find in them!! *gigglez*

    Anyways, have a good one hun!

  16. The only time I really have problems falling asleep is when I actually need to sleep to be prepared for something early the next day. I keep thinking about needing to fall asleep, which just keeps me up, lol.

    I’ve only been to a thrift store once, and that was to buy an old piece of furniture for an art project. I tore it up and made a chair into a shelf, lol, quite fun. Maybe I should give them another shot sometime.

  17. Next time, please tell us review of book you have bought πŸ™‚

  18. Not being able to sleep is the absolute worse. I hope your normal sleeping pattern returns asap!

  19. I hate it when I can’t get to sleep. This always happens the night before school starts on holidays because I’m not used to going to school early.

    Sounds like you bought lots of cool stuff πŸ˜€ I love getting good stuff for a cheap price!

  20. 99 cents?! Hell yes!

Leave a Reply

