A Few Things To Cover

I would like to break down this post before I actually type up my blog, because I feel that my thoughts are everywhere and I would like to better organize them, and not confuse my readers.

    ♦ Reading

    ♦ Starting To Write Reviews

    ♦ College

    ♦ 365 Pictures Project

    ♦ Two New Poems

    ♦ Hosting

Reading: I have been obsessed with reading lately. Not just actual reading of articles and books, but with the act itself. I have been thinking over and over how I want to be the kind of person that says “OH YES, I AM A BOOKWORM, I READ THAT BOOK AND THAT BOOK AND THAT ONE TOO.” I actually do love reading, I just find it is so hard to concentrate on reading a book, unless it is right before I go to sleep. I have been re-evaluating my intelligence (kind of strange, I know) and I feel it may be my mother’s fault, but not so sure that it is a bad thing to blame her on. She always tells me that she wants me to read great books, including her favorites and some classics that she believes would strengthen my vocabulary and smarts overall. I am still reading Annette and Sylvie but I am almost finished because I have been trying really hard to concentrate and finish knowing the book, and its characters, inside out. I started The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand, and I am going to start reading The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, and I am on a mission to finish reading these books before their due date at the library. I have been reading a lot of articles as well, and I found a Brothers Grimm website online and I have been reading their versions of the fairytale stories that I grew up thinking were too plain. Now that we are on the subject of articles though…..

Starting to Write Reviews: I am hopefully going to be writing reviews and articles for Bukisa.Com, and How-To articles for eHow.com because I really need to start some sort of income, even if its just a small wage based on what I write. Who knows, maybe I can become a freelance writer? I would love it :).

College: Classes start on Thursday, January 28th, 2010, and I am super excited because I have been doing NOTHING with myself. I ordered my Hamlet book for my Intro to Lit class, and my Precalculus package for the class. I am waiting to decide where I need to buy my Chemistry textbook, and I have yet to hear from my Intermediate Writing and Intro to Psych professors about what books I need to get. I looked at the syllabuses that have been posted on the college website so far, and wow I am going to be swamped. But I will still make the effort to post several times a week, along with continuing my 365 Pictures project.

365 Pictures Project: Okay here are my photos for Day 24 (top) and Day 25 (bottom):

Two New Poems: So I was writing a lot and I have come up with two poems. Don’t laugh at the titles and what I write so, heh.

A Pigeon and A Dove
Fluttering wings
Sounds of lips touching and tongue thrusts
Shades of gray essence of white
Vision of pure day as blindness of dark night
The pigeon is hated and the dove is loved
Horrible omen and holy symbol
So much to relate
So much to set apart
The traits of birds
They are cousins
They are beautiful and ugly
A pigeon and a dove
The hideous twin and the handsome one.

Old Paper
A sudden touch would break me
Crumpled and old I am
Rough grainy feel
With a rustic tan
Makes me look ancient

The slightest pulling
Would rip me in half
The feeling is grueling
Stop your “Oh whoops” laugh
I could slice your adjacent

One slip of my edge sends blood rushing
From out your skin
Who’s laughing now?
Me and your kin

Soon I will be turned into a bag
Or maybe re-used for another book
Maybe I will be a rag
To clean the shelves or a tiny nook
I am dying no matter what

A sudden touch would break me
Crumpled and old I am
Rough grainy feel
With a rustic tan
Makes me look ancient

Hosting: I opened my hosting page and I haven’t put up hosting packages yet, but I am accepting sub-domain applications if anyone wishes to apply =].

Anyways, I have posted my Love Hina layout for visitors because I didn’t want it as my layout and I turned off theme switching, so there would be no point. Enjoy!

Amour et fusées ♥
Lady 8)

29 responses to “A Few Things To Cover

  1. Ooooh you do 365. My friend successfully finished her 365 last year and now she’s doing 52 weeks. lol. New layout? I like this better.

    Talk laters. 😀
    .-= Laarni´s last blog ..Mending a broken heart =-.

  2. ahhh! reading! I find the act of reading..reading cause you want to read…not school work stuff…I find it very cozy..haha i don’t know how to explain it, but I feel very cozy when I read..anyway!
    I think freelance writing would be amazing! I wish I could write well~
    .-= Lorik´s last blog ..MY TOP 5 =-.

  3. Hi, thanks for dropping by. My daughter and I agreed to transfer her to another school this coming school year and she’s excited about it. Couldn’t even stop talking about the uniform!

    I loved your dress, and I love the hair color, I’m also thinking of doing mine, but since my hair was damaged due to a wrong treatment at a salon, I still have to wait for a couple of months more before the hair relax formula wears off. I’m really furious about it because I used to have a straight long hair, but not this stiff!

    So anywho, I’m also an avid reader, I just haven’t started my Twilight books :worried: but hey, there still should be plenty of time.

    have a wonderful day!
    .-= Crayons n Pencils´s last blog ..Melodramatic =-.

  4. thanks! I’m glad you liked it! it’s one of the layouts I made that I actually like lol.

    I know what you mean, I like reading from time to time, but I can only really concentrate on it when I “feel like reading”. It seems like everyone these days is reading the kite runner lol. My boyfriend lent my mom that book. she said it took her a while to get interested in it, but in the end it was a really good book! I want to read it as well, but once I’m done New Moon (hahah)
    good luck with the reviews and articles. I would like to do reviews, but I don’t think I’m good enough to actually give people advice and what not.. or what kind of reviews do you mean? website reviews?
    good luck with school 🙂 I’m sure you will enjoy the Hamlet book. I had to read it in high school, and even though its weird writing (lol) it was pretty good. Textbooks are SO expensive! I had to buy one for the Chemistry course I was taking, but I didn’t because it was close to 200$ just for it.. no thanks lol.
    those poems are good! I suck at poems lol, I love the old paper one 😀
    .-= Kayt´s last blog ..Whats Happening? =-.

  5. I’ve always been a big reader. I love it! But lately, I’ve been on this HUGE reading kick, too. I find myself wanting to read more than normal. And I wanna read EVERYTHING, too! I’ve thought about taking a couple more lit classes since I work at the university and they’re free. But as an English/editing major, I’m afraid I’ve already taken all the interesting lit classes! But I want to be that person that can recall any allusion, any writing style, and any genre of book, novel, story, or author. I want to get all the Jeopardy questions right! But, I can’t bring myself to read any more of the classics. I’ve read so many already, but they’re just not enjoyable to me. And it seems that every book in the English literary canon is one of these obscurely complex “classics”. I mean, James Joyce’s “Ulysses”? Really??? THAT’S enjoyable to read?!?! No thanks!

  6. I love reading too, and I don’t really come from a family for great readers either. I wouldn’t worry about trying to get through loads of books, enjoy the one you are on, we all read a different rates. Sometimes I can read a book in two days, other times it takes me a month. A lot of classics are overrated enjoyment wise, sure they are culturally significant but a lot are dull reads.

    Lovely poems 😀
    .-= Alice´s last blog ..Thoughts On: ‘New Moon’ =-.

  7. Yeah, i hate dissections!

    I like your poems!! 🙂

  8. I love reading too! I’d much rather read than study for all of my midyear exams. 😦
    I’m liking the new layout!
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..Sorry! =-.

  9. Superb post, well written and concise. Keep up the good work.

  10. Good luck with the reading:) I love love love reading! I wish I had more time to read though!
    .-= Cecilie´s last blog ..There’s glitter on the floor. =-.

  11. Congrats on the 365 project, I simply don’t have the attention span to continue ANYTHING that long, so keep it up! 🙂 Terrific poems! You’re a great writer.
    .-= kasper´s last blog ..EdenFantasys Giveaway! =-.

  12. I wish I could do 365. I always try to participate in something consistent but usually fail after day 2 lol.

  13. I used to be an avid reader, but that stopped for a while — I had enough trouble catching up with readings for class, let alone reading for leisure. I’m trying to get back into it now, though 🙂 Have yet to decide on which book I’m going to start on tho.

    The book in your second photo looks deliciously old, or perhaps it’s just the lighting 😛
    .-= Jen´s last blog ..Random is as random does =-.

  14. Someone told me to write something for ehow.com and use it as an example on my resume for other writing sites. I did the most simple of little things and totally forgot about it. They sent me a payment like 30 days later. I really want to have time and motivation to do the same thing and actually make money, but I don’t think I’m nearly as talented as you are!
    .-= Ranee´s last blog ..Taylor Lautner I Loves Not =-.

  15. I’m also a bookworm myself. I’ve read a lot of books not only for the sake of reading but because I really LOVE READING! 🙂 My current favorite is Walk In My Shoes by Alwyn Evans. It’s a story about an Afghanistan family who wanted to move to Australia because of the war that is happening in their country. To some, they’d consider it boring but hey, it’s really interesting and it moved me. 🙂

    I just realized that we kind of have the same interest. I love writing poems, too. And oh, yours are AWESOME! 🙂
    .-= Tricia´s last blog ..When he looked away, he smiled. =-.

  16. I love the poem. Very nice one

  17. I used to read a lot as well. But now that I’m working, I haven’t had the decent time to read another book. Sigh. I have AYn Rands books and Paulo Coelho’s. Those are some of my fave authors. I love philosophical books. 😀
    .-= Cefana´s last blog ..How is love the 3rd time around? =-.

  18. I love to read, but I don’t read books. Does that make sense? I can’t tell you the last book I read. But, I LOVE to read. Reading makes you a better writer. Someday I hope to write a book.

    …and I really like your poem A Pigeon and a Dove. Has a lot of meaning to me, beyond literally.
    .-= Alissa´s last blog ..Wednesday Woes =-.

  19. Yeah, I’ve never been much of a reader unfortunatley! UNLESS the book really catches my attention then I am all over it! Hahah. Ah yes, extra income is ALWAYS good good. Good luck with college! I’m determined to go someday and hopefully it’ll be sooner rather than later. I really like the poem about the pigeon and dove =)

  20. I love the reviews. Well review. lol. Whip it is a fantastic movie and I am glad you liked it too. You were totally right abotu Juliette Lewis. I just hate her as an actress. I only liked her in The Other Sister because she played that role pretty well.
    .-= Krystal´s last blog ..Somebody to love =-.

  21. Hi!
    what a clever idea to make titmes for paragraphs!
    I love readbng before bed… and while I eat.. but before bed seems kind of special in a weird way I can;t explain..
    I think your mom is right, I think classic books are a must.. id she suggest any??

  22. hiya sweets. gosh, i wish i could become obsessed with reading. i wasn’t obsessed since the twilight saga and even that i didn’t finish. i got lazy towards the 3rd series. lol. good luck with the reviews. also, with school – good luck too! i’ve been laggin on my 365 already. boo. i have the pictures i just gotta upload them 😦 sometimes the uploads are the bitchiest to do haha.
    .-= ash´s last blog ..Movies!!! =-.

  23. oh u love reading books sis?
    me, no exactly its because of my eyes 😀
    but i love to write reviews specially when it is a paid review 😀
    haha

    Offtopic:
    mybe u can help me by joining here
    http://www.jewelryartdesigns.com/jewelry-jad.asp?p=Win-Jewelry&xref=istarblog.com
    thank you sis!
    .-= Cei – finkalixius.info´s last blog ..Addicted =-.

Leave a Reply

